Posted by: atomfullerene | June 4, 2008

Back Home

Enough interesting things have finally happened at home for me to fill out a blog post, and I wanted to let all my friends from Three Seas know what I have been up to.  I got back a week and a half ago.  By brother was in town so I got to see him before he goes off to war.  He’s back in Texas now and going over to Iraq on Sunday.  After I had been here a few days, my brother called me at about 12 at night.  I had just gotten in bed and he had just gotten back to the house and found a big bullfrog out on the lawn.  I got up and went out and caught it.  Its nice to still be seeing some animals, even if they aren’t oceanic.

Frogs always look pretty comical to me.  I’m not sure why.  Anyway, a few days later we had a fish fry.  I don’t know how many of you northerners have ever been to one but in my opinion there is not much that beats catfish fried up a couple of minutes earlier in your own backyard.  And US farmed catfish is in the Best Choices column of the Monterey Bay Seafood Watch card.

It has certainly been different being at home with no school or job to keep me occupied.  I have been trying to get motivated to work on my independent research project, but it is so easy to procrastinate that I havent got a whole lot done.  I have been doing some odd jobs around the house (If you, O Reader, need any sort of odd job done in return for a donation to the “Adam gets to eat this fall” fund, give me a call).

I have also found a few more creative ways to keep occupied.  I did a painting.  This is based on a picture I took in Lubec Maine.  I think it turned out pretty well.  If anyone has suggestions for other things I could paint, I will certainly consider them.

I also added some fish to my saltwater fishtank.  Aren’t they pretty?

I saw a Chromis iomelas and several cute little Odonus niger at the pet store too!  It was like old times in Moorea.

Finally, and most awesomely, I played a great prank on my friend Eric.  To understand this prank you need to know what Rickrolling is.  The basic idea is to send someone a link that they think goes to one thing, but really goes to a music video of Rick Astley.  Here’s the Wikipedia page for more information.

Anyway, back to Eric.  He works at Chick-fil-a, and with the help of a friend who also works there I found out when he would be manning the drive through speaker.  Then I burned “Never gonna give you up” onto a CD and went through the drive through.  Unfortunately, some girl answered instead of Eric.  I backed up, making some hasty excuse, and waited a couple of minutes to try again.  When I tried again, it still wasn’t Eric!  I felt kind of foolish, ordered some waffle fries, and when I got to the window found out from my inside informer (Tammy) that Eric was working the other side.  So I drove around to that side, finally heard “This is Eric, how may I help you?”  and blasted out the song at him.  We  all had a pretty good laugh.

And that is all for now.

Responses

  1. draw me a dinocat please. 🙂

  2. your brother is going to iraq?? how is it that i didnt know about this. that is information i would appreciate. i will keep him in my prayers and hope that he does well over there!! i am proud, even if i dont even know him.

    glad to see you are doing well 🙂 and enjoying the reptiles of the south. i now think of you when i see lizards scurrying across the sidewalk in the 94 degree temperatures.

  3. Such an epic Rickroll, it was, and well in the spirit of the online variety. I had to explain what it was at least three times to my coworkers, which I suppose now makes me the resident expert on Internet culture at Chick-Fil-A.


Leave a Reply

Categories

