Posted by: atomfullerene | April 6, 2008

Live, from Sunny Southern California

All right, it’s not so sunny.  But this is certainly a nice place.  I arrived on the island of Santa Catalina, off the coast of L.A.  It is a bit bigger than Moorea, but still fairly mountainous.  I was expecting warm, dry weather and brown terrain from my other visits to the area, but I found cool, cloudy weather with rain, and verdant green surroundings.  At times I felt like I had washed up in Ireland, not California!  It’s pretty, but I did catch a cold-I was pretty laid out for a couple of days.  Thats one reason I was late getting this post up.  But now the weather has cleared up, and the air has gotten a tiny bit warmer, making the green even more beautiful.  I think I was lucky to arrive in spring.  But enough talk, you want pictures!

There’s the lab, tucked away into Fisherman’s cove (Ironically a no-fishing area)

Does this look like Southern California to you?  Most of the year it is a lot browner, but I am not complaining.

These fields of flowers are really beautiful, as is the coastline below.

It isn’t just the scenery around here that is nice.  The facilities are amazing.  And the food is great too.  These are pictures of my dorm room and the patio we eat on.

All in all, I would say that this rocks!

Responses

  1. Ouch. May large stone debris topple and crush you where you stand, sir. Good day.

  2. WOW, Adam! Another great spot on God’s beautiful earth. Dad and I are excited about coming out to see you in May. Thanks for the great pics! Much love, Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

