Posted by: atomfullerene | February 5, 2008

A Word to the Wise

No pictures this time around…I don’t feel like finding my picture cable.  I may have some up soon though.  I’ve been having a pretty good time lately, as usual.  About a week ago Nick and I hiked up a mountain behind the lab.  It wasn’t a long way, but there also wasn’t a path.  Still, we brought water and about a food and a half of baguette to keep us going.  The view from the top was really something though – I have some good pictures from that which I will likely put up soon.  The only downer was getting stung on the knee by a wasp-but even that wasn’t so bad.

I am still in class on corals.  This is the most graduate level class so far, and I like it.  However, it can be rather depressing.  It seems like all the corals are going to die within 100 years or so.  It may not be quite as bad at that, but increasing temperatures have already bleached out 30% or so of coral, crown of thorns starfish are busy chowing down on them, and decreasing pH in the oceans may well dissolve the skeleton out from under the rest.  Like I said, rather depressing, especially when you consider how long it takes to become a full fledged coral scientist….about 100 years, it seems.  Certainly makes me consider other lines of work.  But corals are realy neat.

Today is my day off, and I have been enjoying it, having chocolate cake for breakfast, reading for class, snorkeling to help my friend with her project, and relaxing in the sun.  But the neatest part is the octopi (I know octopuses is the proper plural, but I think octopi looks better, so that is what I am going to use!) which got brought in today.  They are tiny little guys, one a couple inches from tentacle tip to tentacle tip, the other only a couple of centimeters.  We have them in a tank for, ummm, totally scientific observation.

Responses

  1. Hiking in the mountains, snorkeling, and chocolate cake for breakfast. Not bad, huh? Glad you’re making the most of the opportunity. I’m looking forward to seeing your photos of these, and other, adventures.

    Bad news re future of corals. Doesn’t sound like much can be done to slow/reverse that trend, at least in near future.

  2. Hey, Atom,
    Chocolate cake and octopi in paradise! Not a bad way to spend the day! Glad you are having so much fun in-between your work. Looking forward to seeing your pictures when you get them up!
    Love,
    Aunt Diane


Leave a Reply

Categories

