Posted by: atomfullerene | January 23, 2008

Finally, some underwater pictures

I have finally gotten enough pictures from other people (despite my memory stick malfunctioning) to make a post about diving. So keep in mind that none of these pictures are mine.

I love diving here. It is far superior to Nahant, mostly because I don’t freeze when I go into the water and because of all the really awesome stuff there is to see here.

me.jpg

Thats me out in front, diving on the fore reef with Zach. The visibility of the water on the fore reef (that’s the slope of the reef facing the ocean-the outer edge) is amazing. You can look off of your boat and see straight to the bottom, fifty feet below. I am a little suprised that I don’t feel any sort of vertigo swimming fifty feet above the corals below. I guess the body knows it can’t fall in the water.

The fore reef has some cool wildlife (more on that later) but you get the best view of things in shallower water. This is because there is more light, so more color shows up. Also, there is probably a greater diversity of life in the shallow waters.

clam.jpg

This is a giant clam. Some of them can truly get big, but most giant clams you see are about the size of your hand. They are apparently pretty tasty, so the big ones tend to get eaten. All of them are absolutely gorgeous though. They range in color from green to blue to yellow.

hawkfish1.jpg

Thats a hawkfish, sitting on a piece of coral.

lionfish.jpg

Here are a couple of lionfish. Some of the prettiest fish, but you certainly don’t want to bump into one. Fortunately, they are pretty noticeable.

moorish.jpg

Here we have a Moorish Idol, another fish with a very striking color pattern.

But I am saving the best for last…..something that I saw while diving on the fore reef.  I was floating there under water, doing some science, and Zach points over at a sea turtle!

turtle.jpg

He just swam nearby us, munching on algae and minding his own business.  The two people in this picture are our teachers and T.A.s, chasing around the turtle.  Another T. A. is taking a picture.  I am not sure who was keeping an eye on the students…..but then, its not as if I was watching the fish I was supposed to be watching either.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the update! Fascinating place, and photos.
    Forecast for tomorrow night in Knoxville…15 degrees. Yeah, that’s fahrenheit…….
    Yeah, I’m jealous.

  2. Hey, Adam! The pics are great! I’m glad you are having a good time and seeing the underwater critters that you love. Keep us informed with more pics as your semester moves along.
    Much love, Mom

  3. Adam, whoever thought you’d ever be diving off the reef of a tropical island? I know you’ve worked hard to come this far and I can see you’re enjoying the rewards. I can’t wait to see you over spring break.
    A tout à l’heure!
    Caryn

  4. Adam, whoever thought you’d ever be diving off the reef of a tropical island? I know you’ve worked hard to come this far and I can see you’re enjoying the rewards. I can’t wait to see you over spring break.
    A tout à l’heure!
    Caryn

  5. love it, adam! thanks for sharing! grace and peace…chad

  6. Yea… Yea… the old “seawater got inside my leaky mask and I couldn’t see to finish the test!” excuse — I’ve heard it many a time…

    Looks like you are having a blast! Thanks for keeping us posted on all your adventures and fun.

    Low of 25 last night, sun today but only about 36. Sounds like your weather is lots better!

    Continue having fun and learning lots!
    Diane


Leave a Reply

Categories

