Posted by: atomfullerene | September 26, 2007

Sailing the Spanish Maine

I am now as far north as I have ever been. Yesterday we traveled up from Boston to Maine. It was a long drive, but I got the entire back seat of the van to myself. I read my book and was happy. But the place we are staying is pretty nice. I’d say its as nice as our house in Nahant.

house.jpg

After we got to the house, we were all pretty eager to get out and stretch our legs. Down nearer to the edge of the water was a boat launch, basically a set of rails running down to the water and up into a garage where a boat could be dry docked.

launch1.jpg

launchside.jpg

You can get an idea of the tidal variation, some of the highest in the world, from these pictures. The tide rises up so that the end of the launch is under water.

Of course, it isn’t all fun and games. We did some work the next morning. Early the next morning. But it was a nice sunrise. We did a transect and measured snails. Like a lot of animals, from lizards to deer, snails are bigger farther north.

rusty-dawn.jpg

transect.jpg

Thats all for now, but there is much more to come!

Responses

  1. Are you sure you’re getting college credit for all this fun and traveling???
    I would give you the “back when I was in college” speech but you’ve heard it.
    Enjoy!
    And thanks again for the news updates.

  2. You know, Adam you could always include a picture of yourself in your posts…I wouldn’t mind. It looks like you’re having fun playing in the dirt and beach water. I wish I could be there with you. All I have is my plant and my Oedipean guppies.


Leave a Reply

Categories

